From the Board Chairman 

          Each year the Shepherd’s Center is blessed with new members, returning members, fantastic volunteer teachers and wonderful sponsors. As we celebrate our 25th year in business I want to thank each of you for your participation. Without you, there would not be a Shepherd’s Center (SCOOP).

          It seems weekly I hear about the issue of “Senior Isolation” and how detrimental it is to our health. SCOOP attempts to create an active, vibrant community of seniors who create friendships and socialization opportunities. Please share our program with someone that may need to get out a bit more.

          Since SCOOP is about you and your contributions, I want to hear from you. SCOOP has many tried and true classes that are very successful. I would like to know about a class that would interest you and if you know of a teacher that would be willing to teach the subject. If you are not attending SCOOP, what is your reason: transportation? time commitment? cost? I am committed to constant improvements, so if there is something that SCOOP could be doing better, let me know!

          The 2018 Golden Years Gala, presented by the Allegro at Fleming Island and hosted by ElderSource, was a great success. Thank you for your participation. The winners this year are Ron Coleman, Lifetime Achievement; Judy White, Woman of the Year; Gordon Danielson, Man of the Year; and our own Nancy Keown, Shepherd’s Center Volunteer of the Year. Senator Aaron Bean did a wonderful job of auctioneering and Ernie Cohen stepped in as the Emcee. The Gala proceeds fund the Adventures in Learning program.

          Thank you for your continued support and input. I look forward to seeing you at our summer session!

          Maureen Preta, Board Chairman 

          A special thanks to our Golden Year’s Gala Judges: Doug Conkey, Andrea Hepburn, Jaimie Kelly, Kate Riggs, Dr. Al Rizer, Carol Studdard, Chris Thompson, Jimmy Weeks and Kyle Williamson!

          No event can be a success without a great committee; thank you to Al Benson, Ernie Cohen, Lori Donalty, Esther Lee, Maureen Preta, Susan Stobe, Suzanne Tower and Carol Weisenburger!